
I am socially awkward, I have not have mentioned this "little" detail in my previous posts but the truth is, I am extremely shy, the kind of "serious stage fright, get me out of here I don't want to be around people" kind of shyness which I have to no avail tried to shield through forced conversations and silly giggles. I have a few friends, not even amounting to the number of fingers in one hand, it gets so bad that I abhor meeting new people. In fact for me every new meeting is like "hate at first sight" and this trait is no doubt related to us being overly shielded when we were young which brings me to my story!
At 21, I have never had a relationship as in dated anyone before (man or woman lol!) and there was a time my mom would be really proud of that "achievement" telling me how I and my sister were such decent kids but lately she feels the need to remind me about how I am not getting younger, I should get a dude (she legit says "dude", no jokes!) and how she has to be a Grandma before she turns 50 much to my exasperation.
To make matters worse I seemed to be attracting no "potential suitors" and although I try to shrug it off, convincing myself that I'm still well in my prime, it gets worrying that I don't exactly exude attractiveness, or I don't ooze the right amount of sexuality that girls my age have that apparently call out to good looking "Daddy Fresh" and moneyed men in Lagos.
However on the seemingly uneventful evening of a Friday, I was atop a Bike, while anticipating a weekend of bliss which would be mostly spent on my bed watching cheesy soaps on my Laptop, when I heard the persistent horn of a Car. Initially I thought the honking was for someone else, but that was not the case as I noticed the Car following us closely while flashing lights at us. at that point, I concluded that this was someone I knew.
(Continued in next post)
No comments:
Post a Comment